Mandatory Training


The Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that define the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors. It's made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are 'new to care' and should form part of a robust induction programme. Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, it also offers opportunities for existing staff working at various levels to refresh or improve their knowledge and skills.

Outline of Programme

  1. Understanding your role.
  2. Personal development.
  3. Duty of care.
  4. Equality and diversity.
  5. Work in a person-centred way.
  6. Communication
  7. Compassion, dignity and privacy.
  8. Hydration and nutrition.
  9. Dementia and cognitive issues.
  10. Safeguarding of Adults.
  11. Safeguarding Children
  12. Basic life support.
  13. Health and safety.
  14. Handling information.
  15. Infection control and prevention.


This training was developed for refreshing knowledge and skills in a variety of topic areas based on a review of legislation, guidelines, statutory guidance, standards and recommendations. This was produced in partnership with a panel of social care employers, learning providers and representative organisations and was updated in line with CQC’s revised inspection framework.

Course Content

  1. Assisting and Moving People
  2. Basic Life Support/First Aid
  3. Communication
  4. Dignity
  5. Equality and Diversity
  6. Fire Safety
  7. Food Hygiene
  8. Health and Safety
  9. Infection Prevention and Control
  10. Medication Management
  11. Mental Capacity and DOLS
  12. Person Centred Care
  13. Safeguarding Adults/Children
  14. Information Handling
  15. Moving and Handling of Inanimate Objects

Shopping Cart